Start a new topic

Routing the Renderer's Send Plug-In to its Respective Renderer Send Channel

I'm currently studying Music Technology at New York University. As part of an Independent Study, I've been exploring the use of sound spatialisation as a narrative device when working with an object-based immersive surround sound format. For this work, I'm using Dolby Atmos. I decided to create my own Pro Tools session for Dolby Atmos instead of using one of the supplied templates. When creating the session, I'm unable to route the Renderer's Send plug-in to its respective Renderer send channel. Every time I click on the send channel it returns to None. How can I go about resolving this issue?

Scott

Example attached.   This could be a 5.1, 7.1, or 7.1.2 bed starting at input 19.

Hi Scott,

Routing the to the Renderer LFE bed channel needs to be assigned to Renderer input 4.    This is entirely within Pro Tools.  The return from the Renderer could be assigned to what ever output from you I/O that you wanted.   You'd just take the Renderer return back into Mono aux tracks to easily route to the output of your choice.    If you really mean the input then you just need to create a new bed 5.1 or 7.1.2  bed starting at input 19 which would place the LFE at input 22..   In the input page of the Renderer you can edit the assignments and create another bed and save.   Note that you cannot make modifications to the input page with a Master Files set.

In your Pro Tools session you can create a new buss to feed the second bed and use this as you see fit. With it being used just for the LFE or in addition to the first bed.    It makes the input order layout a bit weird but you'd still have plenty of available inputs for objects.    Hope this helps.

Best,  

Adam

Hello Adam,