Start a new topic
Answered

Audio objects that are mixed thru Binaural Dolby Atmos for headphone mixing , delicately done for a listener's frontal hemisphere \ front imaging of recorded music band are perceived to be shifted and confined to listener's rear hemisphere \ rear imaging

HI ,

I am a student as well as a content creator at an institutional level for our short films. I Ever since i was been introduced to Dolby Atmos technology, i started  my working on my old AAC 2.0 @ 16bit 48khz projects to remix them and produce master in 5.1.4 e-ac3+Atmos @ 16bit 96khz . For this purpose i learnt and used avid pro tools under my uncle's guidance and it did work well but those all of them were home theater mixes . But  recently i started to work on binaural heaphone mixing for the same content with a dolby atmos music panner vst3 plugin on a adobe audition for a 7.1.4 binaural dolby atmos for headphones output. As i observed , im facing minor issues with this type of mixing though overall output sounding wide with overhead sensation.

The problem is as i pan objects towards front side of the cubic room illustration , they will never be heard that way as intended or in other words , after monitoring my mix on a win 10, 1906 version pc with dolby atmos for headphones decoding in use....they all appear to be behind + above the listener only but not in the  front + front height experience... For this purpose i started experimenting this of my discovery by moving some audio objects in a circular fashion with fixed co ordinates in height axis and then outputting the test file. So technically those audio objects will be heard as coming from those 4 height channels right.... but it seems the output is only like a hemisphere experience i.e it is perceived as rear height surround + rear surround via my dolby atmos for headphones consumer"s decoder via dolby access app in win 10 pc.I usually mix on a mac workstation.