Start a new topic

7.1.4 with ProTools Ultimate?

Hello,

I'm new to not just ProTools and the Atmos Renderer but sound production in general. So apologies in advance if I'm using any incorrect/confusing terms.

I am making field recordings using the Rode NT-SF1 Sound Field microphone with the intention of producing audio files for the home theatre using Pro Tools Ultimate with Atmos Production Suite. So far so good with 7.1.2 but I'm perplexed as to how to do the same with 7.1.4.

The Rode Soundfield plugin is capable of outputting all 12 channels for 7.1.4 and this is something I can use with Reaper just fine (e.g. export 12 separate mono tracks). However, in ProTools it seems I am limited to just 7.1.2. I've read here (or perhaps elsewhere) that ProTools' buses (or Renderer's beds or both - I don't recall exactly) are limited to 7.1.2 but that seems quite surprising for a professional DAW. Is it simply not possible to create 7.1.4 experiences using Pro Tools and Atmos renderer without resorting to objects?

If this is indeed impossible, then should I switch to Nuendo I wonder?

Many thanks,

Jof